Beginner’s Pluck – 4 Part Leadership Series

Beginner’s Pluck 

This is a 4 part leadership series that was an easy watch and had a lot of intriguing concepts.  The series is based on a book written by Liz Forkin Bohannon, founder of Sseko Designs. Liz quit her job in corporate america and bought a one way ticket to Uganda. She started with a small dream of wanting to help women and young girls get out of poverty. Her goal was to provide them the opportunity to further their education through university.  From that small dream, her company has since sent 131 women to university.  Click here to see the full impact.

This series will take you through the four stages of learning – this helped give me an understanding of incompetence, awareness of insecurities, focus, and expertise. Have you ever just felt you were constantly moving through the cycles?  I know I have and one of the prominent things that stood out in this series was living your life with a purpose, passion and an impact. You do not have to be extraordinary, you can “own your average.”

A few other points that stuck out to me was:

  • Stop trying to “find” your passion.
    • This will put you in a stage of waiting for find your passion instead of creating a passion. I am interested in other peoples happiness and that is what makes me passionate about changing others lives.
  • Launch out of the waiting and into creating
    • Liz started by working with the women of Uganda to make sandals and then she brought them back to the USA and sold them out of the trunk of her car.  *If-then plan:  If I feel this way, then I’m going to do this.
      • If I start to criticize myself, then I will take a step back and figure out why.

You might also enjoy

Arena Success Group